top of page
Search
alexisdietz17

Interlaken Switzerland 10/31/19

I have never seen a more outright gorgeous place in all of my life. The little town of Interlaken is tucked nicely between two lakes. The word Interlaken actually translates to "between lakes". These lakes are made up of glacier water that makes them the color of light blue gatorade. They also contain so many minerals that you can drink straight from them. They don't taste like gatorade but they do taste fresh. The town is entirely surrounded by mountains. There is a small train that you can take straight up one of the mountains where there is a little walk out. From there you can see all of Interlaken and both of the lakes. The train that takes you up and down is made up of massive glass windows so you can see all angles. Sitting in the front is like being on a rollercoaster, looking straight down the mountain it feels like they are going to drop you at any moment. Interlaken has a lot of adventures activities you can sign up for; I chose paragliding and Kayaking. For paragliding you are brought up to the top of a mountain and strapped into a harness with a large parachute behind you. It is a lot easier to get off the ground than I thought it would be. All you do is run, then after a few steps your feet are no longer on the ground. That is when you sit back, relax and take in the view. The tress where just starting to change color, which made the view even more spectacular.

Paragliding allowed me to enjoy the views from up high while kayaking allowed me to take in the views from bellow. I signed up for kayaking by myself and luckily ended up with a group of very fun nice girls. The water was like glass and reflected the surrounding mountains so well that if it wasn't for gravity I wouldn't know up from down. I always thought of kayaking as a summer activity, and it was a sunny day, but I could see the surrounding tress changing like fall, and if I looked even higher I could see snow covering the tops of the mountains. I was experiencing all of my seasons at once. We stopped at a castle half way through our adventure for tea. From the top of the castle we could see over the top of a little village. Every house had a little brown triangle roof and looked like a cottage.

All I ate in Switzerland was cheese and chocolate and it was worth every carb. The fondues where incredible and the Swiss Chocolates were sensational. Bailey in hot chocolate and coffee was a popular drink in Interlaken, it made me excited for Christmas. Everything about Switzerland was gorgeous, it felt like I was living in a catalogue.













8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page